Under 25

The young guns of the Association start their campaign against East Lothian B.A. on Sunday at Haddington B.C.  at 2.00pm. For the followers of the young guns you will know how crucial this first game is.

The East Section is arguably the strongest section to win the coveted top place. With shot difference playing a big  part in many of the outcomes.

The Association can be very proud that we are the first in The Scottish Bowling League for Under 25 to be playing girls on merit and not on necessity.

So congratulations to both Chloe Thomson and Colette Thomson from Tanfield B.C. who have not only gained a place in the squad but are selected to face East Lothian B.A. on Sunday.

We also have three new caps representing the boys, Stuart Scott and Scott Moodie from Sighthill B.C. and Euan Gray from Craigentinny B.C.

Spaces were made available in the squad due to the march of time and players no longer under the age limit to play. They did however assist in  giving the Association a great 2017 winning team, The League, Calder Cup and Runners Up in the Jim Bell Scottish Cup.

After a very good season at under 25 level where the consistency at this level has been constant for many years it is very disappointing that Bowls Scotland felt that only two players from the most successful Association in 2017 merited a place. So much for the saying success breeds success.

Congratulations go to Liam McKay (Tanfield B.C.) and Josh Spalding (Craigentinny B.C.) who have been selected to represent Scotland.

If possible make the trip down to Haddington and support the young guns.

Andrew Hamilton Trophy

One day to go for the AHT to begin. First game is against Fife B.A. and  this will be a challenge to our new team of  young, middle and elder. (you can choose the category).

A nervous time for both the Committee and the new management team.

A good support at Sighthill B.C. would be welcome to let the squad know you are all behind them and in particular the players selected to play this week against Fife B.A.

Last season was our worst for many years so we will all have to work together to put that disappointment behind us. Together as one unit we can climb that table. That will not be easy as I am sure all the Associations will have the same aspirations.

A welcome addition to the squad after working hard on his exams is  Lewis Betts.

To date we have had one call off from the squad Daniel Gormley, always disappointing to lose a player of that quality from the squad. The Association respects that decision and good luck to Daniel for the rest of the season.

This year,as already advised the Andrew Hamilton Trophy will play a big part in the process of selection for the National team in 2019. The Association will be asking the opposing Committee to recommend players  to add to our own observations each week.

All the best tomorrow it wont be easy.


Matt Purdie invite to trial 2018

The following players have been invited to the Matt Purdie trial on Monday 18 June 2018. The venue is Brunstane B.C.

Adam Brock Bainfield Jack Logan Parkside
Stuart Wilson Bainfield Ian Fleming Parkside
John Douglas Bainfield Rab Gardner Parkside
Dick Wilson Bainfield David Moran Parkside
Allan McKenzie Brunstane Martin Quinn Parkside
Robert Clark Brunstane Lawrence Healy Parkside
Ian Combe Carrick Knowe Keith Anderson Postal
Chris Crawford Carrick Knowe Frank O’Reilly Queensberry
Alan McIntyre* Carrick Knowe John Dickson Queensberry
Bernie Callaghan Corstorphine Alister McKenna* Seafield
Jim Connor Corstorphine Adam Melrose Sighthill
Liam Gordon Craigentinny David Ferguson Sighthill
Bob Cranston Dean Bill Herd Slateford
David Greig Gorgie Mills Tommy Drummond Summerside
B.J. Smith Hillside Gordon Walker Summerside
Brian Irvine Hillside Ian Brown Summerside
Adam Davidson Leith Marshall Shearer Tanfield
Ian Ramsay Leith Ross McGuire Whitehouse&Grange
Norman Inglis Liberton Ian Pryde Willowbrae
Brian Higgins Maitland Gordon Taylor Willowbrae
Frank Welsh Mayfield Keith Hyland Willowbrae
Bill Ross Mayfield Ray Robertson Willowbrae
Alan Mitchell Northern  

U25 invite to trial 2018

The following players are invited to trial on Sunday 29 April at Tanfield B.C.

The trial will commence at 1.00pm

Michael Simmons Blackhall Jordan Davidson Queensberry
John Marshall Brunstane Ryan Lynch Queensberry
Stephen Pringle Carrick Knowe Jamie Anderson Queensberry
Cameron Tennant Carrick Knowe Aaron Donald Sighthill
Nicole Clifford Carrick Knowe Jamie Ronaldson Sighthill
Robbie Smith Carrick Knowe Luke Corbett Sighthill
Ben Campbell Carrick Knowe Scott Moodie Sighthill
Aaron Betts Craigentinny Stuart Scott Sighthill
Lewis Betts Craigentinny Kieran Ward Summerside
Euan Gray Craigentinny Andrew Tregonning Tanfield
Josh Spalding Craigentinny Colette Thomson Tanfield
Andrew Jamieson Gorgie Mills Chloe Thomson Tanfield
Scott McCarthur Gorgie Mills Calum Munro Tanfield
Cameron Paxton Gorgie Mills Liam Mckay Tanfield
Mark Omera Gorgie Mills Nicole McKean Tanfield
Craig Mackintosh London Road Greg Walker Wardie
Dean Mackintosh London Road Mark Walker Wardie
Mark Mackintosh Maitland Ben Maginnis Wardie
Dale Randall Mayfield Rebeca Muir Wardie
Ross Thomson Mayfield Cara Conway Wardie
James Barr Northern Cameron Thompson Wardie
Brandon Maywood Parkside Paul Archibald Willowbrae
Fraser Ewart Postal

A.H.T. invite to trial 2018

The following players have been invited to Trial on Saturday 5 May 2018 at Sighthill B.C.

The trial will commence at 1.00pm

Craig Patterson Bainfield Ross Thomson Mayfield
Steven Pilley Bainfield Gordon Wilson Northern
Adam Brock Bainfield Paul Veitch Parkside
Stephen Pringle Carrick Knowe Neil Watson Parkside
Colin Tough Carrick Knowe Robert Donaldson Parkside
Stuart Campbell Carrick Knowe John Kidd Queensberry
Darren Hush Carrick Knowe Tam Ebbs Queensberry
James Hogg Carrick Knowe Alister McKenna Seafield
John Ramsay Carrick Knowe John McDermott Sighthill
Richard Tough Carrick Knowe Ross Noble Sighthill
Kevin Tennant Carrick Knowe Graeme Eddington Sighthill
David Fisher Colinton Stuart Isbister Sighthill
Gordon Bold Craigentinny Jamie Gracie Slateford
Daniel Gormley Craigentinny Robert Marshall Slateford
Scott Rogers Craigentinny Gordon Ramsay Slateford
Dean Fleming Currie Andrew Ramsay Slateford
Dean Thomson Gorgie Mills Liam Mackay Tanfield
Robert Sloan Leith Andy McNab Tanfield
Craig Mackintosh London Road Steven Kirk W & Grange
Alan Brown Maitland Greg Walker Wardie
Stevie Ritchie Maitland David Torrance Willowbrae